Arkansas Energy Office announces closure of Gaseous Fuels Rebate Program

Staff Writer

LITTLE ROCK, Arkansas (May 20, 2015) – The Arkansas Energy Office (AEO), a division of the Arkansas Economic Development Commission (AEDC), today announced the Gaseous Fuels Rebate Program is now closed as the funds have been expended.
Approximately $515,000 in rebates was awarded through the program.
Of that amount, approximately $400,000 in rebates was administered for new refueling stations or the retrofitting of existing refueling stations in Arkansas that provide public access to clean burning motor fuels, including compressed natural gas (CNG), liquefied natural gas (LNG) and liquefied petroleum gas (LPG).
Also, a total of $115,000 in rebates was awarded for the purchase of or conversion of existing vehicles to natural gas or propane. The rebate amount was dependent upon the cost of conversion or incremental cost of a clean fuel vehicle and allowed for a rebate equivalent to the lesser of 50 percent of the conversion/incremental cost or $4,500 per vehicle.
AEO administers the Gaseous Fuels Rebate Program, as authorized by Arkansas Act 532 of 2013. The program supports the continued development of a publicly accessible, statewide network of alternative fuel filling stations and incentives for the purchase/conversion of fleet vehicles to clean-burning fuels.

More information on the Arkansas Energy Office can be found at